1 800 222 6872

Freddie Hubbard: The Hub of Hubbard

Track List

>Without a Song
>Just One of Those Things
>Blues for Duane
>Things We Did Last Summer, The

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Ten years after trumpeter Freddie Hubbard's debut album "Open Sesame" hit the record stores, his career reached a crossroad. He had already achieved a great deal, including his participation in the groundbreaking free-jazz movement. From this crossroads, he launched his popular phase with CTI Records. Hubbard recorded this album at the MPS studios in Germany while he was on break from his European Tour, which created an opportunity to see this musician alongside his all-star quintet in a non-performance setting. The cornerstone of this album is the jazz standard "Without a Song," which Hubbard and his gang turn into a 13-minute escapade which exploits the band's unrestrained talent, energy, and enthusiasm.

Album Notes

Personnel: Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Eddie Daniels (tenor saxophone); Roland Hanna (piano); Louis Hayes (drums).

Audio Remasterers: Dirk Sommer; Christoph Stickel.

Liner Note Authors: Stefan Franzen; Manfred Schoof.

Recording information: MPS-Studio, Villingen (12/09/1969).

Photographers: Josef Werkmeister; Atelier F. Hugel.

Translators: O.E. Syman; Martin Cook.

Trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, whose Atlantic recordings had straddled the boundary between hard bop and the avant-garde, sticks to bebop on this excellent recording. Performing in a quintet with tenor-saxophonist Eddie Daniels (no clarinet this time), pianist Roland Hanna, bassist Richard Davis and drummer Louis Hayes, Hubbard is in top form on four selections: "Without a Song," a ridiculously uptempo "Just One of Those Things," "Blues for Duane" and a ballad rendition of "The Things We Did Last Summer." ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product