1 800 222 6872

Hey Mercedes: Everynight Fire Works [Digipak]

Track List

>Frowning of a Lifetime
>Every Turn
>A-List Actress
>Slightest Idea
>Eleven to Your Seven
>Que Shiraz
>Our Weekend Starts on Wednesday
>Haven't Been This Happy
>What You're Up Against
>Let's Go Blue
>Save a Life
>Everybody's Working for the Weak
>Wearing a Wire
>Promise, The
>Salty Salute, A

Album Reviews:

Alternative Press (2/02, p.75) - 7 out of 10 - "...better than your average emo..."

Album Notes

Hey Mercedes: Robert Nanna (vocals, guitar); Mark Dawursk (guitar); Todd Bell (bass); Damon Atkinson (drums).

Additional personnel includes: J. Robbins, Christine Lubarsky (percussion, background vocals).

Recorded at Pachyderm Studios, Cannon Falls, Minnesota between April 14-28, 2001.

Personnel: J. Robbins, Christine Lubarsky (vocals, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Mark Haines .

Audio Remasterer: JJ Golden.

Recording information: Pachyderm Studio, Cannon Falls, MN.

Photographer: Chris Strong.

Hey Mercedes' Everynight Fire Works is an aggressive collection of guitar driven emo-rock tracks built upon melody and passion. Like their esteemed ancestors Husker Du, the Pixies, and Sugar, this quartet captures the fervor of a live performance in the studio. Hey Mercedes' clever two-guitar arrangements, which meld basic voicings with linear phrases, are supported by a solid rhythm section that turns the beat around when you least expect it. Punk/thrash influences abound in "Our Weekend Starts on Wednesday," while "Eleven to Your Seven" is a pop tune worthy of Cheap Trick's repertoire. "Haven't Been This Happy" stands as a song of hope to even the most jaded of shoegazers. Everynight Fire Works is a solid effort that should serve as a springboard for a band with a bright future. ~ Tom Semioli


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review