1 800 222 6872

Saint-Saens: Piano Quartet, Op. 41; Chausson: Piano Quartet, Op. 30 / Schubert Ensemble

Notes & Reviews:

On this new release, the Schubert Ensemble returns with a program that has been in its repertoire for many years, the piano quartets by Saint-SaŽns and Chausson. From Saint-SaŽns' witty and elegant Quartet in B-Flat Major to Chausson's relatively unknown, rhapsodic, and full-blooded Quartet in A major, the thrity-year old Schubert Ensemble reveals two extremes of the French romantic repertoire and here offers a rare, attractive and diverse program.

Gramophone Magazine, Awards Issue 2016
A satisfying and rewarding pairing in superb sound. The performances of both, as you would expect from an ensemble that has had these works in its repertoire for many years, as fine in their attention to detail as is their structural grasp and stylistic assurance.

MusicWeb International, 14th September 2016
Superb performances of two related, though contrasting works of great quality.

BBC Music Magazine, December 2016
The first notes tell you that you are listening to a class act: the Schubert Ensemble have only had a few changes in the line-up in over 30 years, and there's complete unanimity of intent. Intonation is precise, rubato absolutely co-ordinated, vibrato carefully graded, and the texture immaculately balanced, the result in both works having been in the Ensemble's repertoire for a long-time.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased