1 800 222 6872

Faith No More: Album of the Year [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak]

Track List

>Last Cup of Sorrow
>Naked in Front of the Computer
>Mouth to Mouth
>Ashes to Ashes
>She Loves Me Not
>Got That Feeling
>Paths of Glory
>Home Sick Home
>Pristine [Billy Gould Mix] - (mix, remix)
>Last Cup of Sorrow [Roli Mosimann Mix] - (mix, remix)
>She Loves Me Not [Spinna Main Mix] - (mix, remix)
>Ashes to Ashes [Hard Knox Alt. Mix] - (mix, remix)
>Light Up and Let Go
>Big Kahuna, The
>This Guy's in Love With You [Live] - (live)
>Collision [Live] - (live)

Album Reviews:

Spin (8/97, pp.114-115) - 7 (out of 10) - "...This is one of the few rock'n'roll bands that can drive through a soul-flavored song without sounding either sappy or mannered....In 1997, Faith No More may be to aging alt-rock dudes what Jefferson Starship were to those same dudes' parents. Fetch me the Geritol, honey...it's time to dance."

Entertainment Weekly (6/20/97, p.75) - "...tempers Mike Patton's he-man vocals and a wall of punk-funk metal with tracks that bring down the noise..." - Ratinga: B

Melody Maker (6/14/97, p.52) - "...As a rebirth, ALBUM OF THE YEAR is the best FNM could've done. And FNM's best is pretty...awesome."

NME (Magazine) (5/31/97, p.55) - "...ALBUM OF THE YEAR is a stepladder slamdunk return to form, encompassing all of FNM's Bullworker-mangling strengths in 12 fizzy tracks....Magic. Wouldn't want to French kiss them, but for once the tongue-in-cheek title is review in itself."

Album Notes

Faith No More: Mike Patton (vocals); Jon Hudson (guitar); Roddy Bottum (keyboards); Billy Gould (bass); Mike Bordin (drums).

Producers: Roli Mosimann, Billy Gould, Faith No More.

Engineers: Daniel Presley, Michael Bogus, Atom.

Recorded at Razor's Edge and Brilliant Studios, San Francisco, California.

Personnel: Mike Patton (vocals); Jon Hudson (guitar); Roddy Bottum (keyboards); Bill Gould (bass guitar); Mike Bordin (drums).

Audio Mixer: Roli Mosimann.

Audio Remasterer: Geoff Pesche.

Liner Note Author: Roddy Bottum.

Recording information: Brilliant Studios, San Francisco, CA; Razor's Edge, San Francisco, CA.

Photographer: Ross Halfin.

ALBUM OF THE YEAR is Faith No More's sixth full-length release. It demonstrates the same kind of straight-ahead approach as its predecessor, KING FOR A DAY, but also contains plenty of surprises. The album was recorded entirely at bassist Billy Gould's home studio, and contains the highlights "Collision," "Stripsearch," "Last Cup of Sorrow," "Naked in Front of the Computer," and "Helpless." Despite the emergence of numerous up-and-coming bands that were mentioning FNM as an important influence, the bandmembers amicably went their separate ways upon the completion of their 1997-98 tour.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review