1 800 222 6872

László Lajtha: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1 - Symphony No. 1, Suite for orchestra / Nicolás Pasquet, Pécs Symphony Orchestra

Notes & Reviews:

Laszlo Lajtha remains Hungary's foremost symphonist and one of the country's greatest composers of the first half of the twentieth century. Written when he was 44, the vigorous and optimistic Symphony No. 1, Op. 24 reveals a strong affinity with Latin and French models and with indigenous Hungarian folk-music. By 1941, when In Memoriam was composed, the modd had darkened and this work is a shocking yet eloquent protest against the brutality of war. The delicious four movement Suite pour Orchestre was compiled by the composer from his ballet Lysistrata.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased