1 800 222 6872

Sibelius: Violin Concertos; Six Humoresques

Notes & Reviews:

This set of six miniatures [Humoresques] would probably tempt me to lay out the whole price of the disc by themselves. They are small, compact works of very concentrated content. One could almost call them musical K-rations except that they bring far more satisfaction than K-rations possibly could. At first they may appear to be mere trifles, but do not be deceived. They are virtual case studies in virtuoso violin technique but with some musical substance mixed in. Accardo provides a ravishingly beautiful performance. Like the Concerto, these are sometimes taken more slowly in tempo than normal, but the pulse never falters and new beauties are revealed.

Gramophone Magazine
I can't think of many artists who have more successfully conveyed the innocence as well as the magic of the opening bars. [... ] The slow movement has warmth and its textures a glowing, lambent quality. [... ] Throughout the work, the brass have exactly the right kind of power and sonority. The finale is played with effortless brilliance by the soloist. [... ] Accardo is the first to record all six Humoresques as a fill-up to the concerto and he and Sir Colin Davis bring to them a fine sense of atmosphere and rapture. [... ] A superb record.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review