1 800 222 6872

Joyce Manor: Cody [Digipak]

Track List

>Fake I.D.
>Angel in the Snow
>Do You Really Want to Not Get Better?
>Last You Heard of Me
>Make Me Dumb
>Over Before It Began
>Reversing Machine
>This Song Is a Mess But So Am I

Album Reviews:

Spin - "[T]he riffs are tight but not brittle, and the production's just grubby enough -- almost every track kicks off with pent-up 'in case of emergency, break glass' energy. It's an emotional boilermaker served with a shot of bleak-as-hell..."

Paste (magazine) - "CODY finds a more grown-up Joyce Manor, but every track contains enough blunt expressions of existential despair to tie them to their angsty past."

Album Notes

Personnel: Nate Ruess, Phoebe Bridgers (background vocals).

Photographer: Adam Degross.

To follow up their breakthrough 2014 punk pop mini-masterpiece, Never Hungover Again, the band did two things they hadn't done before. To get the sound they wanted on 2016's Cody, they headed to a real studio and hired a producer with a long résumé, Rob Schnapf. He had worked with bands like Guided by Voices and Rancid in the past, as well as the late Elliott Smith, and he brought plenty of technical know-how to the sessions. He also helped the band expand their songs and fill out the arrangements, giving the record a modern sheen that worked well with the songs about modern punk life and growing up. ~ Tim Sendra


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review