1 800 222 6872

Radiohead: TKOL RMX 1234567 [Slipcase]

Track List

>Little by Little [Caribou Rmx] - (remix)
>Lotus Flower [Jacques Greene Rmx] - (remix)
>Morning Mr Magpie [Nathan Fake Rmx] - (remix)
>Bloom [Harmonic 313 Rmx] - (remix)
>Bloom [Mark Pritchard Rmx] - (remix)
>Feral [Lone RMX] - (remix)
>Morning Mr Magpie [Pearson Sound Scavenger Rmx] - (remix)
>Separator [Four Tet RMX] - (remix)
>Give Up the Ghost [Thriller Houseghost Rmx] - (remix)
>Codex [Illum Sphere Rmx] - (remix)
>Little by Little [Shed Rmx] - (remix)
>Give Up the Ghost [Brokenchord Rmx] - (remix)
>TKOL [Altrice Rmx] - (remix)
>Bloom [Blawan Rmx] - (remix)
>Good Evening Mrs Magpie [Modeselektor Rmx] - (remix)
>Bloom [Objekt Rmx] - (remix)
>Bloom [Jamie xx Rework] - (remix)
>Separator [Anstam Rmx] - (remix)
>Lotus Flower [SBTRKT Rmx] - (remix)

Album Reviews:

Magnet (p.59) - "Harmonic 313 places 'Bloom' in a submersible loaded with depth charges, and Pearson Sound sets the motorik 'Morning Mr. Magpie' loose in a breakbeat playground."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his collection showcases work by 19 of the band's favourite electronic minds..."

Album Notes

The two-disc TKOL RMX 1234567, a compilation of King of Limbs remixes geared more for home listening than dancefloors, gathers all the tracks from seven 12" and download singles released between July and October 2011. Each one of the eight songs on King of Limbs is remixed at least once, while one of them, "Bloom," gets five looks -- including two by Mark Pritchard, who provides a sighing ambient dub mix as Harmonic 313 and a blistering Krautrock-in-dub mix under his birth name. Lone injects his tranquil/turbulent rainbow spangles into "Feral," creating great tension with off-center ambient house textures, rattling percussion, and Yorke's vocal reduced to clipped sighs. Pearson Sound's "Morning Mr. Magpie" is among the most radical takes, smearing synthetic handclaps, battering drums, sub-bass throbs, and shotgun snares. Earlier on, in Jacques Greene's "Lotus Flower," some of Yorke's vocals are left untreated, and the choppy rhythm of the original is switched out for a soft rustle that develops into a straightforward, gorgeously ornamented groove. In a way, this is overkill indeed -- over 100 minutes of remixes for a 40-minute album. However, it's also fascinating to hear how this current crop of producers -- spanning abstract hip-hop, house, dubstep, bass music, and experimental techno, all selected by Thom Yorke -- twists, bends, adjusts, and appropriates the source material. ~ Andy Kellman


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product