1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Piano Concerto in G major; Piano Concerto in B flat major; Divertimento in B flat major / Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, piano; Gábor Takács-Nagy, Manchester Camerata

Notes & Reviews:

After demonstrating their 'innate love and understanding of Haydn's music in performances of the expected vivacity and insight' (BBC Music), Bavouzet and Takacs-Nagy, the latter conducting his Manchester Camerata, now explore Mozart's extraordinary prolific year 1784 in this new series. Two of the six concertos that year are heard here, each unusual for having been written by Mozart for another pianist and for featuring a central Andante, instead of the more common Adagio. This is a unique version that, as Bavouzet stresses in his booklet note, 'although played unequivocally on modern instruments, contrasts with those versions made not so very long ago, which used a large orchestra incorporating sixteen violins and eight double-basses.' He adds: 'a versions which also will take into account a number of performing practices current in Mozart's time, such as the use of a solo quartet to accompany certain well-defined passages in which the piano is predominant. A version which in one way or another aims to link tradition and modernity.'

MusicWeb International, 29th November 2016
Tremendous performances of Mozart concertos in their own right, but spiced up by some deliciously acerbic cadenzas.

BBC Music Magazine, February 2017
There's splendid playing from both Bavouzet and the Manchester Camerata under Gábor Takacs-Nagy: a passionate account of the extraordinary moment in the finale of K456... or the hushed atmosphere of the minor mode variation in the last movement of K453... a beautiful account of the much earlier Divertimento K137 is a welcome bonus.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased