1 800 222 6872

Taylor Ho Bynum: Enter the Plustet *

Track List

>Sleeping Giant
>Three (For Me We & Them)
>That Which Only... Never Before

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

The music draws upon examples like Anthony Braxton, Cecil Taylor, and Sun Ra (with members of the ensemble having worked with all those legends), but also displays influences including Charles Ives, Prince, Bjork, and Duke Ellington - it is both avant-garde and surprising accessible.

Recent Praise for Taylor Ho Bynum:

"One of the freshest and most innovative voices composing and playing music today" (Josephine Reed, NEA Arts Magazine)

"A provocateur in the guise of a consensus builder" (Nate Chinen, The New York Times)

"[Bynum's music] conveys a sense...of mini-events that coalesce into a drama which, thanks to his alluring compositions and inspiring leadership, isn't just that of musicians at work; it's the entire tradition, casting its own challenging spotlight on them as they create, knowingly, humbly, but freely and proudly." (Richard Brody, The New Yorker)

Album Notes

Personnel: Taylor Ho Bynum (cornett); Jason Kao Hwang (violin, viola); Tomeka Reid (cello); Ingrid Laubrock (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Jim Hobbs (alto saxophone); Matt Bauder (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Nate Wooley, Stephanie Richards (trumpet); Vincent Chancey (French horn); Steve Swell (trombone); Bill Lowe (bass trombone, tuba); Jay Hoggard (vibraphone); Tomas Fujiwara (drums).

Audio Mixer: Nick Lloyd.

Liner Note Author: Taylor Ho Bynum.

Recording information: The Firehouse 12 Warehouse Studio, New Haven, CT (01/11/2016/01/12/2016).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product