1 800 222 6872

James MacMillan (b.1950): Violin Concerto; Symphony No. 4 / Vadim Repin, violin; Gillian de Groote, voice; Donald Runnicles, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Album Summary

>MacMillan, James : Concerto for Violin
>MacMillan, James : Symphony no 4
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Sir James MacMillan is one of today's most successful composers. His musical language is flooded with influences from his Scottish heritage, Catholic faith, social conscience and close connection with Celtic folk music. The recording of the fourth symphony is taken from the 2015 BBC Proms and was the world première performance. This release from Onyx not only features the CD début of two major works composed by MacMillan, it also features performances by the dedicatee of each work. The Violin Concerto is performed by Vadim Repin and the Symphony No.4 is conducted by Donald Runnicles. Both works feature the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>MacMillan, James : Concerto for Violin
  • Performer: Vadim Repin (Violin)
  • Conductor: Donald Runnicles
  • Ensemble: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 7 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 2009

>MacMillan, James : Symphony no 4
  • Conductor: Donald Runnicles
  • Running Time: 37 min. 55 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 2014-2015