1 800 222 6872

Alfred Hill (1869-1960): Piano Concerto; Piano Sonata; George Frederick Boyle (1886-1948): Piano Concerto; "The Romantic Piano Concerto, Vol. 69" / Piers Lane, piano; Johannes Fritzsch, Adalaide Symphony Orchestra

Notes & Reviews:

Though lesser-known today, composers Alfred Hill and George Boyle enjoyed distinguished careers, both in their native Australia and abroad. Hill was known as the 'grand old man' of Australian musical life in his time. His Piano Concerto in A minor and Piano Sonata in A major *are effectively the same work, the one being an orchestral expansion of the other. In addition to his work as a composer, Boyle took on students in New York that included such luminaries as Copland and Barber. *The Romantic Piano Concerto Vol.69 features his Piano Concerto in D minor. All works are performed here by Piers Lane and the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra led by Johannes Fritzsch.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased