1 800 222 6872

Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829): Music for Two Guitars, Vol. 1 - Variazioni concertanti, Opp. 35 & 130; Tre Polonesi concertanti, Op. 137; Rossini overtures / Jeffrey McFadden & Michael Kolk, guitars

Notes & Reviews:

Mauro Giuliani was regarded in his day as "perhaps the greatest guitarist who has ever lived", making his name in Vienna and mixing with the likes of Beethoven. On his return to Italy in 1820, he consorted with Paganini and Rossini which resulted in his arranging four of the latter's overtures for two guitars. These versions abound in lyrical melodic lines, fast arpeggios, subtle colors and technical virtuosity also to be heard in the Gran variazioni concertanti. The Tre Polonesi concertanti are also full of joie de vivre, lively dance rhythms and elegant melodies.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased