1 800 222 6872

Angela Gheorghiu Sings Arias by Handel, Mozart, Massenet, Charpentier, Puccini, Bellin, et al. "Live from Covent Garden" / Angela Gheorghiu, soprano; Ion Marin, Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden

Notes & Reviews:

Angela Gheorghiu, hauntingly seductive of tone and an artist of acute sensitivity, enjoys a special relationship with London's Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, where she first captured the imagination and hearts of the world's opera-lovers. This 2001 live recital with orchestra showcases Gheorghiu in roles she has championed in the theatre or on record (Adriana Lecouvreur, Madama Butterfly, Manon), and provides tantalizing glimpses of the magic she brings to Bellini, Mozart and Handel - and the music of her native Romania and Broadway.

Notes & Reviews:

After her 1994 performance of La Traviata at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden introduced her to opera fans around the world. Angela Gheorghiu returned several years later for a more diverse program, encompassing the music of Handel, Mozart, Puccini, and Bellini, among others. Accompanied by the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, under the baton of Ion Marin, Gheorghiu proves that her startling ascendance in opera circles was no fluke; she tackles tough material but carries it all off, highlighted by her performances of Porgi, Amor from Mozart's Le Nozze di Figaro and Un Bel Di, Vedremo from Puccini's Madama Butterfly. ~ John Bush


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review