1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Great Mass in C minor / Christopher Hogwood, et al

Album Summary

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Mass in C minor, K 427 (417a) "Great"
Performers Conductors Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Mass in C minor is probably the most opulent and complete of all Mozart's choral works. Hogwood's interpretation remains very close to the composer's intentions, with its period instruments and boy's choir, its German-pronounced Latin and outstanding soloists. "It can be warmly recommended" -Gramophone. Chorus and soloists are excellent with a beautifully moving performance by Arleen Auger.

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
Mozart left unfinished the work that ought to have been the choral masterpiece of his early Viennese years but there's enough of it to make up nearly an hour's music - music that's sometimes sombre, sometimes florid, sometimes jubilant. Hogwood avoids any charge of emotional detachment in his steady and powerful opening Kyrie, monumental in feeling, dark in tone; and he brings ample energy to the big, bustling choruses of the Gloria - and its long closing fugue is finely sustained. The clarity and ring of the boys' voices serve him well in these numbers. There's a strong solo team, headed by the late Arleen Auger in radiant, glowing voice and, as usual, singing with refined taste; Lynne Dawson joins her in the duets, John Mark Ainsley too in the trio. But this is essentially a 'soprano mass' - Mozart wrote it, after all, with the voice of his new wife (and perhaps thoughts of the much superior one of her sister Aloysia) in his mind - and Auger, her voice happily stealing in for the first time in the lovely 'Christe', excels in the florid and expressive music of the 'Et incarnatus' (where Richard Maunder has supplied fuller string parts than usual, perhaps fuller than Mozart would have done had he finished the work). Hogwood directs with his usual spirit and clarity.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Mass in C minor, K 427 (417a) "Great"
  • Performers: John Ainsley (Tenor); Arleen Augér; Lynne Dawson; David Thomas (Bass)
  • Conductor: Christopher Hogwood
  • Ensemble: Winchester Cathedral Choir
  • Notes: Composition written: 1783.
  • Running Time: 6 min. 59 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1783