1 800 222 6872

Tan Dun: Bitter Love / Ying Huang, et al

Album Summary

>Tan Dun : Peony Pavilion
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"...the 14 songs spin a passionate story...and certainly embrace Tan's description of 'Peony' as 'medieval chant meeting rock 'n' roll meeting ancient Chinese kunju opera'. Soprano Ying Huang is involving... she conveys elegant melodies of swoops, swirls and fluttering trills...the sounds of a drum kit emerge and combine with those of traditional Chinese instruments, synthesizers and extended vocal techniques..." -Sherriff, BBC music magazine *****


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Tan Dun : Peony Pavilion :: Bitter Love
  • Performers: Joseph Celli (Oboe); Joseph Celli (Piri); Joseph Celli (Taeponso); David Cossin (Percussion); Tan Dun (Violin); Bruce Gremo (Di); Bruce Gremo (MIDI Horn); Bruce Gremo (Xun); Steven Osgood (Voice); Ian Tan (Voice); Min Xiao-Fen (Pipa); Linqiang Xu (Tenor); Huang Ying (Soprano); Chen Yuanlin (Percussion); Chen Yuanlin (Sampler); Chen Yuanlin (Water Gong); Wang Zhensheng (Percussion)
  • Conductor: Tan Dun
  • Ensemble: NChiCa Orchestra
  • Running Time: 60 min. 3 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Language: English
  • Studio/Live: Studio