1 800 222 6872

Iancu Dumitrescu: Musique Action 98

Track List

>Meteors and Pulsars II
>Nouvelle Axe
>Life on Earth
>Black Death and Errors in Construction

Album Notes

Composer: Iancu Dumitrescu.

Personnel: Hyperion Ensemble (strings); Tim Hodgkinson (clarinet, bass clarinet); Ana-Maria Avram (piano, prepared piano); Chris Cutler (percussion).

Recording information: Nancy Vandoevre Music Festical.

Musique Action 98 showcases the various experimental approaches one finds at the edgiest festivals of the '90s. In fact, the album title is the name of the French music festival that these recordings are drawn from. The four compositions result from very different approaches and techniques. The durations of the sections in "Life on Earth" were determined by the length of burning candles. "New Meteors and Pulsars" is an electro-acoustic composition inspired by a meteor sighting. "Black Death and Errors in Construction" is a modern composition with cues for improvisation and rhythmic shifts dispersed throughout. "Novelle Axe" is described as "an exploration of string and sound technique." This CD's whole emphasis, in fact, is on technique and form. The compositions are the results of exploring approaches to performance, underlying structures, and concepts of composition. It is magnified mental music -- theoretically intriguing -- and all the abstract, sparse experimentation you can be dared to enjoy. ~ Joslyn Layne


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased