1 800 222 6872

Mendelssohn: Symphony no 2 /Seifried, Nelson, Cullagh, et al

Album Summary

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Symphony no 2 in B flat major, Op. 52 "Lobgesang"
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Mendelssohn sub-titled his Symphony No. 2 "Hymn of Praise". With its conscious similarity to Beethoven's "Choral" Symphony, through its extended choral finale and its powerful ethical message, it was a very popular work in the nineteenth century. It contains beautiful writing for both orchestra and voice, but curiously is not as well known as the composers later symphonies. This excellent Naxos release will certainly do much to bring the work to a wider audience. Highly recommended.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Symphony no 2 in B flat major, Op. 52 "Lobgesang"
  • Performers: Majella Cullagh (Soprano); Mary Nelson (Soprano); Adrian Thompson (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Reinhard Seifried
  • Ensemble: RTE Philharmonic Choir
  • Notes: National Concert Hall, Dublin, Ireland (06/02/1998-06/03/1998)
  • Running Time: 65 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: circa 1840