1 800 222 6872

Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos / Krauss, Ursuleac, Korjus, et al

Album Summary

>Strauss, Richard : Ariadne auf Naxos, Op. 60
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer


This scintillating live broadcast performance, conducted as only Krauss could, impressed radio-listener Strauss so much that the composer sent Krauss "a telegram informing him that the composer had granted him the right in future to be in charge of all his works as 'first commander of the baton for radio affairs.'" The distinctive highly accented Krauss style, in which each instrumentalist plays as if he were a soloist and not merely part of an orchestra, is especially effective because the sound quality is stellar, as if the recording were made today. It's the only pre-1940 recording that is even nearly so high fidelity. Perhaps the digital clean-up here was simply phenomenal. (BTW, the person who said that it must have been Bohm conducting, must be deaf, because Bohm never conducted in this style; only Krauss did.)
Submitted on 06/24/13 by Eric Zuesse 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Strauss, Richard : Ariadne auf Naxos, Op. 60
  • Performers: Viorica Ursuleac (Soprano); Eugen Fuchs (Baritone); Milizia Korjus (Soprano); Benno Arnold (Tenor); Erna Berger (Soprano); Ilonka Holndonner (Soprano); Helge Rosvaenge (Tenor); Karl Hammes (Baritone); Erich Zimmermann (Tenor); Gertrud Runger (Voice)
  • Conductor: Clemens Krauss
  • Ensemble: Berlin Reichssenders Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1916.
  • Running Time: 80 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1916