1 800 222 6872

Wagner: Parsifal / Boulez, King, Jones, Crass, Ridderbusch

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Parsifal
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Recorded at the Bayreuth Festival in 1970, this remains one of the finest modern performances of Wagner's Parsifal available today. Though a little shy on warmth, conductor Pierre Boulez's judicious tempo choices combined with his uncanny understanding of the subtleties of Wagner's sonic fabric and their effect on the Opera's overall design are remarkably captivating. The four principal vocalists are in top form as well and Deutsche Grammophon's engineers have done an excellent job with the sound. A must for Parsifal collectors!


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Parsifal
  • Performers: Hannelore Bode (Soprano); Franz Crass (Bass); Hermin Esser (Tenor); Wendy Fine (Soprano); Marga Höffgen (Alto); Gwyneth Jones (Soprano); James King (Tenor); Margarita Kyriaki (Soprano); Donald McIntyre (Baritone); Inger Paustian (Soprano); Karl Ridderbusch (Bass); Bengt Rundgren (Bass); Elisabeth Schwarzenberg (Soprano); Dieter Selmbeck (Tenor); Dorothea Siebert (Soprano); Thomas Stewart (Baritone); Sieglinde Wagner (Alto); Sieglinde Wagner (Alto); Heinz Zednik (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Pierre Boulez
  • Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Chorus
  • Running Time: 218 min. 12 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1877-1882
  • Language: German
  • Studio/Live: Live