1 800 222 6872

Puccini: Madama Butterfly / Barbirolli, Scotto, Bergonzi

Album Summary

>Puccini, Giacomo : Madama Butterfly
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

"For years this has been the benchmark Butterfly... and re-hearing it now, it still is. Renata Scotto was at the peak of her vocal powers in 1966, with beautiful pianissimos as well as every other dynamic, and a voice whose top had not yet turned acidic. As an interpretation, she gets Butterfly magnificently. She never overdoes the little-girlness, and the pathetic 18-year-old "I-won't-go-back-to-being-a-geisha" monolog never dissolves into tears, but rather ends with a quiet, resigned, and utterly heartrending "Morta!". Even in the final scene she refuses to cheapen with effects; her vocal color and phrasing tell the story perfectly." -Classics Today (10/10)

Note: This title is rare and is considered a collector’s item. It is priced according to its common market value. If the record label that it is on goes on sale, it will also be reduced in price.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Puccini, Giacomo : Madama Butterfly
  • Performers: Carlo Bergonzi; Piero de Palma (Tenor); Anna di Stasio (Mezzo Soprano); Paolo Montarsolo (Bass); Giuseppe Morresi (Bass Baritone); Silvana Padoan (Mezzo Soprano); Rolando Panerai (Baritone); Mario Rinaudo (Bass); Renata Scotto (Voice)
  • Conductor: John Barbirolli
  • Notes: Teatro dell'Opera, Roma (08/16/1966-08/17/1966)
  • Running Time: 75 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1904