1 800 222 6872

Verdi: Aida / Muti, Tomowa-Sintow, Fassbaender, Domingo, etc

Album Summary

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Aida, opera
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
Riccardo Muti's 1974 studio recording on EMI, with Caballé, Cossotto and Domingo, has been one of the steady recommendations for this work on CD. This live account from 1979 in many, but not all ways, surpasses the studio performance... Catches the high excitement of a first night in the opera house. Applause is never intrusive, scenery change only once so. This is as gripping an account of the piece of any on disc.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Aida, opera
  • Performers: Placido Domingo (Voice); Placido Domingo (Voice); Brigitte Fassbaender (Voice); Brigitte Fassbaender (Voice); Nikolaus Hillebrand (Bass); Nikolaus Hillebrand (Bass); Robert Lloyd (Voice); Robert Lloyd (Voice); Siegmund Nimsgern (Bass); Siegmund Nimsgern (Bass); Norbert Orth (Tenor); Norbert Orth (Tenor); Marianne Seibel (Soprano); Marianne Seibel (Soprano); Anna Tomowa-Sintow (Soprano); Anna Tomowa-Sintow (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Riccardo Muti
  • Ensemble: Bavarian State Opera Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1871.
  • Running Time: 121 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1871