1 800 222 6872

Janacek: Jenufa / Haitink, Mattila, Silja, Silvasti, et al

Audio Samples

>Janácek, Leos : Jenufa

Album Summary

>Janácek, Leos : Jenufa
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"This is still a very good and praiseworthy release, principally because of the incandescent performance of Karita Mattila in the title role. The Finnish soprano sang this role to unanimous acclaim at the Met in January, and this recording enshrines her as the recorded Jenufa of choice. Her somewhat cool but intensely colored voice sounds as pure, beautiful, and smooth over its entire range." - Moses, ARG


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Leos Janácek (Composer) (1854 - 1928) : Jenufa
  • Performers: Jennifer Higgins (Mezzo Soprano); Anja Silja (Soprano); Leah-Marian Jones (Mezzo Soprano); Gail Pearson (Soprano); Eva Randova (Voice); Elizabeth Sikora (Soprano); Peter Manning (Violin); Jerry Hadley (Tenor); Jonathan Fisher (Baritone); Karita Mattila (Voice); Jeremy White (Bass); Jorma Silvasti (Tenor); Rebecca Nash (Mezzo Soprano)
  • Conductor: Bernard Haitink
  • Ensemble: Royal Opera House Covent Garden Chorus
  • Notes: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London, England (10/10/2001-10/18/2001)
  • Running Time: 1 min. 54 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1894-1903