1 800 222 6872

Britten: Albert Herring / Hickox, Gilchrist, Stephen, et al

Album Summary

>Britten, Benjamin : Albert Herring, Op. 39
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This is the first digital recording of Albert Herring. The recording was made following a series of live performances and the theatrical excitement that marked those live occasions comes across vividly on this recording. This is part of Richard Hickox's series of Benjamin Britten operas, all of which have received tremendous critical acclaim and are regarded as classics of the digital age.

Penguin Guide
Richard Hickox more than any rival brings out the fun of Britten's comic chamber opera, lifting rhythms in an infectious way. The result is warm and welcoming...James Gilchrist is outstanding, with a tenor light enough to sound wimpish in the first half of the opera, and then to convey the anger of the character in the monologue that marks his change of heart


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Britten, Benjamin : Albert Herring, Op. 39
  • Performers: Yvette Bonner (Soprano); Rebecca Bottone (Soprano); Susan Bullock (Soprano); Sally Burgess (Mezzo Soprano); Anne Collins (Voice); Rebecca Evans (Soprano); James Gilchrist (Tenor); Gregory Monk (Voice); Alan Opie; Stephen Richardson; Pamela Stephen (Mezzo Soprano); Robert Tear (Tenor); Roderick Williams (Bass Baritone)
  • Conductor: Richard Hickox
  • Ensemble: City of London Sinfonia
  • Notes: Blackheath Halls, London, England (10/11/2001-10/14/2001)
  • Running Time: 2 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1947