1 800 222 6872

Wagner - The Opera Collection: Die Meistersinger / Solti

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

'Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg' was the one Wagner opera which Solti recorded twice. Although both versions were well-received, this fully digital version, recorded in 1995 with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, was Solti's favorite. The recording is based on three live performances, resulting in a lightness and clarity of texture throughout.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
  • Performers: Kelly Anderson (Bass Baritone); Kevin Deas (Bass Baritone); Albert Dohmen (Bass Baritone); Ben Heppner (Voice); Herbert Lippert (Tenor); Gary Martin (Bass); Karita Mattila (Voice); Stephen Morscheck (Bass); John Murray (Tenor); Alan Opie (Voice); René Pape (Bass); Roberto Sacca (Voice); Steven Tharp (Tenor); Iris Vermillion (Mezzo Soprano)
  • Conductor: Georg Solti
  • Ensemble: Chicago Symphony Chorus
  • Notes: Orchestra Hall, Chicago, IL (09/23/1995-09/27/1995)
  • Running Time: 170 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1862-1867