1 800 222 6872

Cras: Polyphème / Tovey, Arapian, Marin-Dregor, Beuron, etc

Album Summary

>Cras, Jean : Polypheme
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"There is something hypnotic and marvelous about this opera, composed by a man better-known during his lifetime as a sea-captain than a composer... The score is lush and lavish; you feel awash in it. It tells the story of Acis, Galatea, and the Cyclops Polyphemus, but it's about as different from (both of) Handel's settings as possible... as the Cyclops, Armand Arapian is totally caught up in his plight and his anger, with his self-hatred absolutely clear. His dark sound is menacing and powerful. The chorus has some beautiful moments and the orchestra plays handsomely. Conductor Bramwell Tovey obviously loves this score. The sound is glorious. This is a new and also oddly familiar listening experience, and I recommend it highly." -Classics Today (10/10)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Cras, Jean : Polyphème
  • Performers: Armand Arapian (Tenor); Laure Baert (Soprano); Yann Beuron (Tenor); Remi Corbier (Tenor); Valerie Debize (Soprano); Sophie Marin-Degor (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Bramwell Tovey
  • Ensemble: Ile de France Regional Chorus
  • Running Time: 159 min. 41 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1912-1918
  • Language: French
  • Studio/Live: Studio