1 800 222 6872

Janacek: Jenufa / Mackerras, Watson, Barstow, Ellet, et al

Album Summary

>Janácek, Leos : Jenufa
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Watson's voice is beautiful, lyrical and warm, and she delineates a moving interpretation. Most of the singers, who are all closely miked, have good diction, so the English text can be understood most of the time. This should not be the only 'Jenufa' in your collection, but after listening to the Czech original, in Mackerras's Decca recording or any other, will be clearer and more meaningful." - Moses, ARG


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Leos Janácek (Composer) (1854 - 1928) : Jenufa
  • Performers: Josephine Barstow (Soprano); Alan Fairs (Baritone); Elizabeth Vaughan (Soprano); Claire Hampton (Soprano); Charlotte Ellet (Soprano); Neal Davies (Bass-Baritone); Nigel Robson (Tenor); Sarah Pope (Mezzo Soprano); Janice Watson (Soprano); Imelda Drumm (Mezzo Soprano); Marian McCullough; Peter Wedd (Tenor); Rosemary Hay
  • Conductor: Charles Mackerras
  • Ensemble: Welsh National Opera Orchestra
  • Notes: Brangwyn Hall, Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales (07/20/2003-07/26/2003)
  • Running Time: 11 min. 59 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1894-1903