1 800 222 6872

Elgar: The Light of Life / Hickox, Howarth, Finnie, Davies

Album Summary

>Elgar, Edward : Light of the World
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
In the glorious orchestral 'Meditation' Hickox's conducting demonstrates a noble flexibility, sensitivity to dynamic nuance and feeling for climax. Equally the engineering, sumptuous yet detailed, comes close to the ideal. The LSO and Chorus contribute to proceedings in exemplary, disciplined fashion. As The Blind Man, Arthur Davies could hardly be more ardent, but his slightly tremulous timbre won't be to all tastes.

John Shirley-Quirk, so eloquent and firm-toned a Jesus for Groves (on EMI) back in 1980, now shows signs of unsteadiness in the same part. On the other hand, Linda Finnie and Judith Howarth make a creditable showing. Hickox's reading excels in precisely the areas where the Groves was deficient, and vice versa. If you already have the Groves reissue, hang on to it, for it's by no means outclassed by the Hickox. However, for anyone coming to this underrated score for the first time, Hickox's must now be the preferred version.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Elgar, Edward : Light of the World
  • Performers: Arthur Davies (Tenor); Judith Howarth (Soprano); John Shirley-Quirk (Baritone)
  • Conductor: Richard Hickox
  • Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: All Saints Church, Tooting, London, England (02/01/1993-02/03/1993)
  • Running Time: 57 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1896