1 800 222 6872

Mahler: Symphony no 9 / Chailly, Concertgebouw Orchestra

Album Summary

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 9 in D major
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Ninth Symphony is Mahler's last completed symphony and is considered to be one of his 'two greatest works'. It is grand musical exposition of his innermost conflicts, of the tensions arising from a profound fear of death and a genuine yearning for the joys of life. It is perhaps the most eloquent, purely orchestral expression of his lifetime obsession with death.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 9 in D major
  • Conductor: Riccardo Chailly
  • Ensemble: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
  • Notes: Grotezaal, Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (06/14/2004-06/18/2004)
  • Running Time: 90 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1908-1909