1 800 222 6872

Brahms: Piano Concerto no 1 / Rubinstein, Reiner, CSO

Album Summary

>Brahms, Johannes : Concerto for Piano no 1 in D minor, Op. 15
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Although RCA's 1954 Rubinstein/Reiner Brahms First Concerto originally appeared in mono, an experimental stereo version surfaced in the late 1970s, offering a fuller, more three-dimensional sonic experience. The two-track source tape sounded even better in its 24-bit transfer for RCA's 1999 complete Rubinstein edition. On SACD, you perceive further ambient clarity and a sense of air between the notes, where the anguished trills in the first movement and full-throated sonorities from the Chicago Symphony's superb brass players truly hit home. Indeed, I've always loved this performance chiefly for its orchestral distinction and for Reiner's forward-moving, disciplined leadership. Note, for example, the gorgeous euphony of the woodwinds in the slow movement, or the sharp profile and delineation with which Reiner shapes and balances the fugato in the finale. Rubinstein's heartfelt affinity and mastery of Brahms' burly piano writing is never in doubt, although the pianist's remake 10 years later with Erich Leinsdorf and the Boston Symphony benefits from his greater introspection and expressive simplicity in the first movement's lyrical second theme and the entirety of the slow movement. All told, the volatile Rubinstein/Reiner Brahmsian chemistry holds its own after more than half a century. Let's hope their Rachmaninov Second Concerto and Paganini Rhapsody collaborations will appear on SACD before too long." -Classics Today


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Brahms, Johannes : Concerto for Piano no 1 in D minor, Op. 15
  • Performer: Artur Rubinstein (Piano)
  • Conductor: Fritz Reiner
  • Ensemble: Chicago Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 46 min. 16 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1854-1859