1 800 222 6872

Bloch: America, Suite hébraïque / Atlas, Shaham, et al

Album Summary

>Bloch, Ernest : America
>Bloch, Ernest : Suite hebraique, for viola (or violin) & orchestra (or piano)
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Swiss-born was hugely prolific, and during his life his compositional style underwent several changes. 'America' vividly describes the history of American using styles ranging from Native American music to jazz to the dissonance of car horns. The 'Suite Hebraique', composed especially for Bloch's seventieth birthday festival in Chicago, draws on traditional Jewish melodies to evoke a sense of nostalgia.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bloch, Ernest : America :: an Epic Rhapsody, for chorus & orchestra (or piano or organ)
  • Conductor: Dalia Atlas
  • Ensemble: Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Bratislava
  • Notes: Concert Hall of the Slovak Radio, Bratislava, Slovakia (03/26/2001-03/31/2001)
  • Running Time: 49 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1926

>Bloch, Ernest : Suite hébraïque, for viola (or violin) & orchestra (or piano)
  • Performer: Hagai Shaham (Violin)
  • Conductor: Dalia Atlas
  • Ensemble: Atlas Camerata
  • Notes: Composition written: 1951.
  • Running Time: 12 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1951