1 800 222 6872

Carl Schuricht-Collection - Brahms: German Requiem

Album Summary

>Brahms, Johannes : German Requiem, Op. 45
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

From the date of its premiere in 1868 to the present day, Brahms's moving early masterwork, 'German Requiem' has spoken to generations of listeners, and few conductors have approached this familiar score with the sence of awe and reverence shown by Carl Schuricht. A very special dimension of this CD is the magisterial performance of a young Hermann Prey.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Brahms, Johannes : German Requiem, Op. 45
  • Performers: Hermann Prey; Maria Stader (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Carl Schuricht
  • Ensemble: Southwest German Radio Vocal Ensemble, Stuttgart
  • Notes: Stuttgart, Sendesaal Villa Berg, SWR (11/04/1959-11/07/1959)
  • Running Time: 67 min. 29 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1857-1868