1 800 222 6872

Prokofiev: The Love for Three Oranges / Hickox, et al

Album Summary

>Prokofiev, Sergei : Love for three oranges
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"...[this] Australian performance itself is in every way competitive with current rivals... Hickox and his Australians have a ball throughout, and the recording somehow captures all the sparkiness of live performance without the usual excessive dryness of an opera house acoustic. Crucially, the chorus and orchestra sound as fully engaged as the soloists themselves... In a sense the serious collector has to have Gergiev for the original Russian text... but for the most instant enjoyment, the new issue will surely score highest for native English speakers." -Gramophone


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Prokofiev, Sergei : Love for three oranges
  • Performers: John MacMaster (Tenor); Sally-Anne Russell (Mezzo Soprano); Arend Baumann (Bass); Teddy Rhodes (Baritone); Warwick Fyfe (Baritone); Elizabeth Whitehouse (Soprano); Graeme Macfarlane (Tenor); William Ferguson; Richard Alexander (Bass); Catherine Carby (Mezzo Soprano); Tim DuFore (Voice); Jud Arthur (Bass); Ali McGregor (Soprano); Bruce Martin (Bass)
  • Conductor: Richard Hickox
  • Ensemble: Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra
  • Running Time: 3 min. 58 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1919
  • Studio/Live: Live