1 800 222 6872

Ravel: Piano Trio; Chausson / Kobayashi, Hasegawa, Rogé

Album Summary

>Ravel, Maurice : Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in A minor
>Chausson, Ernest : Trio for Piano and Strings in G minor, Op. 3
Performers Composers

Notes & Reviews:

This disc is the second release in the Rog Edition on Onyx Classics. It follows on the heels of the labels highly acclaimed recording of Debussys complete piano Prludes (ONYX 4004). It also marks the 10th anniversary of Pascal Rogs trio with Mie Kobayashi and Yoko Hasegawa, both well-known classical stars in Japan who have toured with Rog widely in Asia and Europe. If Rogs previous Decca CD of Ravel chamber music (which won a Gramophone Award in 1997) is any indicator, this new release of Ravel & Chausson trios should be met with high acclaim. 792938003023

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
Pascal Rogéacute; heads up this thoughtful disc of French trios. He has described his gods as Bach, Beethoven and Schumann, with Poulenc, Debussy and Satie as his friends. And so, too, are Ravel and Chausson, to judge by his finely sensitive performances.

Ravel's swaying, insinuating opening theme could hardly be played more lucidly or affectionately and its final return is full of hushed magic, a far cry from smarter, more metropolitan and impersonal readings. The Pantoum is vivacious rather than aggressive and the entire performance, even in moments of heightened drama and intensity, is unforced, its sparkle gentle rather than metallic or self-consciously virtuosic.

Chausson's early Trio is remote from such ultra- Gallic refinement and sophistication, its opening Pas trop lent romantically troubled in a style clearly deriving from César Franck's recently completed Piano Quintet. The second movement Vite, on the other hand, falls like manna from heaven after so much chromatic turbulence. Both here and in the finale Chausson breaks out into a reassuring lightness which has its origins in Saint- Saëns. Such alternating solace and despair are beautifully realised by Rogéacute; and his colleagues. The warm and fluid Onyx sound reflects performances of a quiet but unmistakable authority.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Ravel, Maurice : Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in A minor
  • Performers: Pascal Rogé (Piano); Yoko Hasegawa (Cello); Mie Kobayashi (Violin)
  • Running Time: 26 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1914

>Chausson, Ernest : Trio for Piano and Strings in G minor, Op. 3
  • Performers: Yoko Hasegawa (Cello); Mie Kobayashi (Violin); Pascal Rogé (Piano)
  • Running Time: 30 min. 30 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1881