1 800 222 6872

Violetta - Selections from La Traviata / Netrebko, et al

Album Summary

>Verdi, Giuseppe : La traviata
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Anna Netrebko has quickly established herself as one of the finest sopranos in the world today. "Violetta" is a show-stopping recording of highlights from her history-making turn as the star of Verdi's 'La Traviata', recently released by Deutsche Grammophon. This release includes a bonus DVD featuring music videos and a photo gallery. Here is what the critics have been saying: "Her voice is meltingly beautiful" (The New York Times); "The singer who simply has it all" (San Francisco Chronicle); "Be forewarned: Netrebko can be habit-forming" (Washington Post); "A chill-inducing set of pipes and supermodel looks" (Details)

Notes & Reviews:

Violetta, a CD featuring Anna Netrebko, is essentially an album of highlights from La Traviata, and although the focus is rightly on her, the musical quality of all the performances and of the entire album is terrific. The recording comes from a production at the 2005 Salzburg Festival. With an all-star cast that also features Rolando Villazón and Thomas Hampson, the performances generated an ecstatic reaction from the Salzburg audiences, and the recording captures the excitement of the experience. The soloists, orchestra, and chorus perform with a vibrant energy that propels the drama with unusual urgency. Netrebko sings flawlessly with a sumptuous, velvety legato, and she is completely engaging as Violetta, beautifully capturing her high spirits, her inner strength, and her physical frailty. "Ah, fors'è lui" is particularly moving. Villazón is a fine foil for her, with a dark, burnished tenor and an impetuous, sometimes explosive temperament. Hampson's Germont is vocally superb, but he seems somewhat disengaged and doesn't bring the same level of emotional investment to his role as the romantic leads. Carlo Rizzi leads the Vienna Philharmonic with meticulous attention to the details of Verdi's scoring, giving the music a punchiness that tends to get smoothed out in many performances. The orchestral balances are exceptionally fine, so that each scene is distinctively shaded and colored. Deutsche Grammophon's sound is wonderfully clear and present, capturing the positive elements of a live performance without the distractions or limitations that frequently mar live recordings. ~ Stephen Eddins


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Verdi, Giuseppe : La traviata
  • Performers: Salvatore Cordella (Tenor); Paul Gay (Baritone); Thomas Hampson (Voice); Anna Netrebko (Soprano); Diane Pilcher (Mezzo Soprano); Luigi Roni (Bass); Helene Schneiderman (Mezzo Soprano); Rolando Villazón (Tenor); Herman Wallén (Voice)
  • Conductor: Carlo Rizzi
  • Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1853.
  • Running Time: 51 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1853
  • Studio/Live: Live