1 800 222 6872

Siegfried Wagner: Sonnenflammen / Trekel, Schuster, etc

Album Summary

>Wagner, Siegfried : Sonnenflammen, Op. 8
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Siegfried Wagners eighth opera, Sonnenflammen, was completed in the spring of 1912 but not premiered until October 30th 1918. The doomsday atmosphere of the work corresponds to the symptoms in evidence during the time of the operas composition. In May 1910 the Halley Comet had caused unrest in Europe, and a clairvoyant in Vienna had predicted the end of the world. This live recording was captured over a series of live performances in January 2003.

Gramophone Magazine
Siegfried Wagner's operas have fared well at the hands of CPO and now comes Sonnenflammen, eighth of the 18 he wrote. The music settles a few obvious debts to his father but has its own energy and lyricism, and a good ear for orchestral colour. Roger Epple gives an enthusiastic lead to his Halle forces and to his cast, including vigorous portrayals of Iris by Eva Bátori and of the tormented Fridolin by Richard Brunner.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Siegfried : Sonnenflammen, Op. 8
  • Performers: Eva Bátori (Soprano); Anke Berndt (Soprano); Richard Brünner; Nils Giesecke (Baritone); Jordi Molina (Tenor); Ki-Hyun Park (Bass); Olaf Schroder (Voice); Michaela Schuster (Mezzo-Soprano); Ulrich Studer (Baritone); Jürgen Trakel; Roman Trekel (Baritone); Gerd Vogel (Bass)
  • Conductor: Roger Epple
  • Ensemble: Halle Opera House Chorus
  • Notes: Georg-Friedrich-Händel-Halle (01/27/2003-01/31/2003)
  • Running Time: 10 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1914
  • Studio/Live: Live