1 800 222 6872

Schumann: Symphony no 4; R. Strauss: Death & Transfiguration / Knappertsbush, Vienna PO

Album Summary

>Schumann, Robert : Symphony no 4 in D minor, Op. 120
>Strauss, Richard : Tod und Verklarung, Op. 24
Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

This CD completes the series of live recordings made by Hans Knappertsbush with the Wiener Philharmonic at the beginning of the 60'. These works are considered one of the highest level of Knapperrtbush career as conductor.

The interpretations of Schumann' Fourth Symphony and Rchard Strauss' Tod and Verklärung could be considered as one of best performances of these two works now available on CD.

The Fourth Symphony has an epical grandeur and an expressive intensity equal only to the ones that Wilhem Furtwangler has reached. Istead Tod and Verklärung from the beginning to the end is infused by a wild desire to claim that is immediately communicated to the listener, that made this CD one of the points of reference for Richard Strauss music.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Schumann, Robert : Symphony no 4 in D minor, Op. 120
  • Conductor: Hans Knappertsbusch
  • Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 29 min. 48 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1841
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Strauss, Richard : Tod und Verklärung, Op. 24
  • Conductor: Hans Knappertsbusch
  • Running Time: 22 min. 49 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1888-1889
  • Studio/Live: Live