1 800 222 6872

Seppo Pohjola: Symphonies nos 1 & 2 / Finnish Radio SO; Sakari Oramo, conductor

Notes & Reviews:

Expedition Audio Recommended
The Finnish Radio Symphony under Sakari Oramo executes masterfully. No matter how much they overwhelm you in sound, there's this feeling that they can give a little bit more; they play at this point of balance where an orchestra is at its most powerful... ... read more ...

Born into a distinguished Finnish musical family, composer Seppo Pohjola (b. 1965) suffered two devastating tragedies: both his brothers died. His Symphony No. 1 was dedicated to their memory and his second symphony followed soon after. These are world premiere recordings.

American Record Guide, May/June 2013
His First Symphony (2002) is a continuous four-movement memorial for both of his brothers. The work opens with an atmosphere of quiet mysticism. This is a formidable symphonic beginning to what looks like a wonderful cycle. The Second Symphony (2006) is cast in four distinct movements that follow the classical model. The two works share thematic consistency. Both have episodes of stunning beauty, forest calls, and more of those horn solo. Don't miss this. The Finnish Radio Symphony is in world-class form, as is Alba's engineering. More, please.


Dynamic range to much
The dynamic range of this disc makes listening very difficult as one must constantly adjust the level up and down. I have found this on many new records lately. The symphonies are enjoyable but I have yet to be able to hear them.
Submitted on 07/24/13 by dw 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased