1 800 222 6872

Haydn: The Creation / Popp, Luxon, Tennstedt, London PO

Album Summary

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : The Creation, H 21 no 2
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Haydn composed this supreme choral masterpiece late in his career. The libretto, translated from English, is based on the biblical story and on Milton's Paradise Lost. In ambition and scale, The Creation was without precedent in Haydn's output and the thrill of the first light, the gentle humor of the musical representation of the animals, the brilliance of the choruses and the sheer exuberance of Haydn's concept are vividly brought to life in this recording by Klaus Tennstedt with his first-rate team of soloists: Lucia Popp, Anthonly Rolfe Johsnon and Benjamin Luxon.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : The Creation, H 21 no 2
  • Performers: Anthony Rolfe Johnson; Benjamin Luxon; Lucia Popp
  • Conductor: Klaus Tennstedt
  • Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1798.
  • Running Time: 101 min. 13 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1798
  • Studio/Live: Live