1 800 222 6872

Strauss: Arabella / Kempe, Della Casa, Trötschel, et al

Album Summary

>Strauss, Richard : Arabella, Op. 79
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This set features a live performance of 'Arabella' given by the Bayerischen Staatsoper at the Royal Opera House during their visit to London since the Second World War. 'Arabella' is 'a team opera' and this performance is a fine example, particularly in the exchanges involving the less prominent, but essential, roles. Dresden-born conductor Rudolf Kempe was steeped in the Straussian tradition, and his probing interpretation is one of the glories of this recording.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Strauss, Richard : Arabella, Op. 79
  • Performers: Kathe Nentwig (Voice); Max Proebstl (Bass); Lisa Casa (Voice); Hermann Uhde (Baritone); Albrecht Peter (Baritone); Ira Malaniuk (Mezzo Soprano); Lorenz Fehenberger (Tenor); Elfriede Trötschel (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Rudolf Kempe
  • Ensemble: Bavarian State Opera Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1929-32.
  • Running Time: 4 min. 12 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1929-1932