1 800 222 6872

Schubert: Trout Quintet, etc / Mitchell, Lewis, et al

Album Summary

>Schubert, Franz : Trio for Strings no 1 in B flat major, D 471
>Schubert, Franz : "Trout" Quintet
>Schubert, Franz : String Trio in B flat major, D. 581
Performers Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Schubert's much-loved 'Trout Quintet' is one of the most popular chamber music pieces of all time. The Leopold String Trio, considered one of the world's most outstanding string trios, here performs these works with remarkable poise and expression. They are joined by pianist Paul Lewis (himself an acclaimed Schubertian) and double bassist Graham Mitchell for the 'Trout.' These fine young musicians bring to these works the engaging freshness, calm authority and generosity of spirit the music deserves.

'One of the finest modern Trouts available. As with their Mozart, their Schubert benefits from scrupulous attention to detail, a keen sense of the music's drama and a deeply rewarding expressive response to this imperishable masterpiece ... exquisitely played' (The Sunday Times)

'The Leopold String Trio understands Schubert's pursuit of beauty and the sublime, enhanced in their joyful 'Trout' Quintet partnership by pianist Paul Lewis and double-bassist Graham Mitchell. This 'Trout' surely ranks high on the all-time list of Schubert chamber music recordings' (MusicWeek)

'beautifully recorded, with excellent balance and a warm, intimate sound. High spirits and poetry are given equal attention' (Gramophone)

'Their interpretation is compelling for its spontaneity and compelling detail. It shows them to be completely within the Schubertian sensibility and encompasses the piece's mood changes with subtlety, capturing its lyricism with true Schubertian bonhomie' (The Strad)

'This is a fresh, lively recording, in excellent sound, that is hard to better. Schubert's eternally singing lines are deceptively simple sounding, but are full of subtleties; similarly, while the Leopold Trio et al are always spot-on technically, they also sound like a group of friends revelling in making music for themselves. the enjoyment is catching' (HMV Choice)

'This may not be the 'best' Trout on disc, but I've never heard a better one. For one thing, the sound is exceptionally fine: natural in timbre, beautifully balanced and relatively close, with a sharply focused and perspective free of the intrusive breathing that can infect chamber-music recordings. And the double bass is superbly captured, never unduly intrusive but aptly full down to its lowest notes - so much so, in fact, that its presence is palpable physically as well as aurally' (International Record Review)

'Their range of expression is wonderful, expanding not so much outwards as inwards, with a palette of soft colours that perfectly evokes the candlelit rooms and intimate music-making of Schubert's time. That's true, too, in the Trout Quintet where they are joined by the solid, anchoring tone of bassist Graham Mitchell and, of course, the inimitable Paul Lewis, undoubtedly one of the finest younger Schubert pianists in the world' (Classic FM Magazine)

'The Trout is played with sweetness and lyricism...the Leopold and friends allow very few clouds in this sunniest of pieces...It makes for thoroughly enjoyable listening' (American Record Guide)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Schubert, Franz : Trio for Strings no 1 in B flat major, D 471
  • Notes: Potton Hall, Dunwich, Suffolk, England (06/05/2005-06/07/2005)
  • Running Time: 8 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1816

>Schubert, Franz : "Trout" Quintet
  • Performers: Graham [Bass] (Double Bass); Paul Lewis (Piano)
  • Notes: Potton Hall, Dunwich, Suffolk, England (06/05/2005-06/07/2005)
  • Running Time: 39 min. 32 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1819

>Schubert, Franz : String Trio in B flat major, D. 581
  • Notes: Potton Hall, Dunwich, Suffolk, England (06/05/2005-06/07/2005)
  • Running Time: 20 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 09/1817