1 800 222 6872

Monteverdi: L'orfeo / Nikolaus Harnoncourt [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

An operatic legend returns-the celebrated Zurich Monteverdi cycle of Jean-Pierre Ponnelle and Nikolaus Harnoncourt. Until the 1970s, Monteverdi had been quietly fated to academia until Jean-Pierre Ponnelle and conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt staged three of Monteverdi's works at the Zurich Opera in the 1970s. The productions drew widespread attention to the great music dramatist and stimulated many new stagings of his works in years to come. Claudio Monteverdi, the first great composer of opera composed over 40 known operas-here now are those three legendary performances. L'Orfeo is considered operas first undisputed masterpiece and tells the story of Orpheus whose music conquered the underworld and restored the life of Eurydice, his wife. Monteverdi's last opera, L' Incoronazione di Poppea (The Coronation of Poppea), was one of the most popular in its day with its steamy close-up view of aristocracy. Il Ritorno d' Ulisse in Patria (the Return of Ulysses to his Homeland) was the first opera written for the public opera houses of Venice and is based on tales from Homer's Odyssey.

Notes & Reviews:

Region: All
Picture Format: NTSC, Color
Sound Format(s): LPCM Stereo, DTS 5.1 Surround
Subtitles: Italian, English, German, French, Spanish, Chinese
Country of Origin: USA


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Monteverdi, Claudio : L'Orfeo
  • Performers: Suzanne Calabro; Hans Franzen (Bass); Werner Groschel; Roland Hermann (Bass); Philippe Huttenlocher (Baritone); Glenys Linos; Trudeliese Schmidt (Mezzo Soprano); Dietlinde Turban
  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
  • Ensemble: Zurich Opera Chorus
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1607
  • Studio/Live: Live