1 800 222 6872

Pianist Margaret Leng Tan - The diva of avant-garde pianism / "Sorceress of the New Piano" [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Strumming the strings of a grand piano like a harp and performing Beethoven on toy piano are among the surprising scenes in Evans Chan’s documentary, 'Sorceress of the New Piano' (2004), which celebrates the trans-cultural career of Singapore-born, New York-based pianist Margaret Leng Tan, hailed by The New Yorker as "the diva of avant-garde pianism". The film traces Tan's quest for a new pianistic language, performing ground-breaking works by masters Henry Cowell, George Crumb, and her longtime mentor John Cage, as well as by maverick composers of the next generation: Philip Glass, Tan Dun, Somei Satoh, Ge Gan-ru, Toby Twining, Lois V Vierk, Raphael Mostel, Guy Klucevsek, Stephen Montague, and Jed Distler.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 142 min.
Picture Format: NTSC, Color
Country of Origin: USA


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased