1 800 222 6872

Rossini: La Gazza Ladra / Paolo Bordogna Ferrara/Orchestra Haydn di Bolzano, Papatheologou, Korchak; Cantarero [DVD]

Album Summary

>Rossini, Gioachino : La gazza ladra (The Thieving Magpie), opera
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

La Gazza Ladra is an "opera semiseria" which developed from the middle of the eighteenth century with the vogue for "Larmoyant" tales. By Rossini's time this genre was classified into a rigidly defined series of conventions: a drama with a happy ending, in which the innocent victim, unjustly condemned, should be saved from the scaffold at the eleventh hour and the rascal persecutor punished. The social setting of these operas always delt with a conflict between a feudal aristocracy ( that in La Gazza Ladra is replaced by arrogant welders of power ) and a world of humble people , nearly always peasants. Known as 'The Thieving Magpie' in English, La Gazza Ladra deals with a servant girl accused of stealing some silverware with which the magpie of the title has actually absconded for its nest. Seemingly lightweight, the opera was rooted in a true story in which a young woman was actually put to death for the bird's "crime". - The overture neatly melds episodic colour with the weightier drama of symphonic sonata form. It features a parade of effects and lovely themes, including an especially famous one introduced by an oboe, that anticipates the characters and action to come, and then, following a spectacular crescendo, reworks several of these themes in a mini-development section.

Notes & Reviews:

Picture Format: NTSC


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Rossini, Gioachino : La gazza ladra (The Thieving Magpie), opera
  • Performers: Paolo Bordogna (Baritone); Paolo Bordogna (Baritone); Mariola Cantarero (Soprano); Mariola Cantarero (Soprano); Stefan Cifolelli (Tenor); Stefan Cifolelli (Tenor); Manuela Custer (Mezzo Soprano); Manuela Custer (Mezzo Soprano); Alex Esposito (Bass); Alex Esposito (Bass); Mario Ferrara (Tenor); Mario Ferrara (Tenor); Dmitry Korchak (Tenor); Dmitry Korchak (Tenor); Cosimo Panozzo (Tenor); Cosimo Panozzo (Tenor); Kleopatra Papatheologou (Mezzo Soprano); Kleopatra Papatheologou (Mezzo Soprano); Michele Pertusi (Bass); Michele Pertusi (Bass); Vittorio Prato (Baritone); Vittorio Prato (Baritone)
  • Conductor: Lu Jia
  • Ensemble: Orchestra Haydn di Bolzano e Trento
  • Running Time: 201 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1817
  • Studio/Live: Live