1 800 222 6872

Ode To Freedom, Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 / Leonard Bernstein [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Only a few days after the fall of the Berlin Wall, Leonard Bernstein conducted this gala concert in a city that was no longer divided. On that program was Beethoven's Ninth Symphony, the final chorus of which became an ode, not to joy, but to freedom. It was a radiant performance, every moment of which breathed the joy and emotion that were felt in the face of this turning point in history.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 94 min.
Region: All
Picture Format: NTSC, 4:3, Color
Sound Format(s): LPCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Performers: June Anderson (Soprano); Klaus Konig (Tenor); Jan-Hendrik Rootering (Bass); Sarah Walker (Mezzo Soprano)
  • Conductor: Leonard Bernstein
  • Ensemble: Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1822-1824
  • Studio/Live: Live