1 800 222 6872

A Portrait of Mariss Jansons & Mahler: Symphony No 2 / Film by Robert Neumuller [Blu-Ray]

Notes & Reviews:

Music is the Language of Heart and Soul is the only available documentary about Mariss Jansons from his early days till today. Jansons is one of the leading conductors, performing with the most important orchestras in the world. This 2 DVD-set includes a performance with M. Jansons and Concertgebouw Orchestra of Mahler. "Mariss Jansons is one of the best orchestra builders around." The New York Times "No conductor has a more extraordinary story to tell than Mariss Jansons." The Independent

BBC Music Magazine, July 2012
Most valuable is the footage of his father, conductor Arvid Jansons, and of his own early days as a Herbert von Karajan protege...Of Jansons's humanity and penetrating gifts as a conductor we hear heartfelt testimony from the pianist Lang Lang...the Mahler film fully displays Jansons's passionate physical engagement with the music.

Gramophone Magazine, July 2012
The humility everywhere apparent points to the fact that, while much in Jansons's background would indicate musical success...that success was far from assured...The presumptions in the documentary are put well into practice in Mahler's Second Symphony...Jansons deploys his stage forces with such seamless attention to the score that Mahler's eruptions become part of a preconceived plan and not spontaneous outbursts for their own sake.

MusicWeb International, December 2012
The preparation is scrupulous, featuring wonderful attention to detail. Every orchestral section displays immaculate intonation and ensemble, while the solos are always played with assuming virtuosity and the highest level of musicianship. The orchestra has always had a uniquely burnished sound that seems made for Mahler's music.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 142 min.
Region: All
Picture Format: Blu-Ray, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): LPCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio 5.1
Subtitles: English, French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased