1 800 222 6872

Bernstein conducts Beethoven: String Quartet no 16 (vers. for string orch.); Haydn: Missa in tempore belli / Blegen, Fassbaender, Ahnsjoe, Sotin, Vienna PO [Blu-Ray]

Notes & Reviews:

Released for the first time on DVD and Blu-ray, Leonard Bernstein's interpretations of Beethoven's String Quartet No. 16 and Haydn's Missa in tempore belli are quite superb. Only the strings of the Vienna Philharmonic could carry off the orchestral rendition of Beethoven's opus 135 with bravura, since each player is a true soloist. Bernstein and the orchestra wanted to play a difficult Beethoven Quartet in a monster setting, achieving a truly exciting performance unlike anything one ever hears.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased