1 800 222 6872

An Evening at the Royal Opera House - Famous arias and choruses / Renee Fleming, Joseph Calleja, Jonas Kaufmann, Bryn Terfel et al. [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

Showcasing outstanding productions from the stage of the Royal Opera House, An Evening with the Royal Opera brings together a collection of arias and choruses from some of the world's favorite operas. Enjoy performances including The Barber of Seville, Carmen, Rigoletto, Le nozze di Figaro, Don Giovanni, Die Zauberflöte, and Falstaff sung by artists including Renee Fleming, Joseph Calleja, Jonas Kaufmann, Erwin Schrott, Teodor Illincai, Hibla Gerzmava, Miah Persson, Jose Cura, Ailish Tynan and Bryn Terfel.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 95 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): 24-bit LPCM Stereo, DTS 5.1
Country of Origin: Germany


Marvelous highlights from great operas
The performance excerpts contained on this DVD are from La Traviata, a more modern Carmen, Le Noe Di Figaro, La Boheme, Die Zauberflote, Dido and Aeneas, … well, you get the idea. And the performers showcased herein are the best in the business – Renee Fleming, Joseph Calleja, Jonas Kaufmann, Sarah Connoly, Diana Damrau, Simon Keenlyside, Bryn Terfel, Jose Cura…and the conductors featured include Antonio Pappano, Christopher Hogwood, Charles Mackerras, Andris Nelsons, Colin Davis, Bernard Haitink, et al. In short, there is no shortage of star power anywhere you look on this disc.

Particularly satisfying is the interaction between Renee Fleming and Joseph Calleja in Libiamo ne’ lieti calici, as well as Simon Keenlyside’s rendition of Pa-pa-pa-pa. But for me, the Purcell (Didi’s Lament) was stunning and worth the price of the DVD in and of itself.

This is a wonderful DVD, both for the experienced opera aficionado as well as for the neophyte looking to get a taste of what all the fuss is about. Buy it -- you won’t be disappointed!

Submitted on 01/02/13 by KlingonOpera 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Various : Opera Highlights
  • Performers: Joseph Calleja; Sarah Connolly; José Cura; Diana Damrau; Renée Fleming; Hibla Gerzmava; Jonas Kaufmann; Simon Keenlyside; Miah Persson; Erwin Schrott; Bryn Terfel
  • Ensemble: Royal Opera House Orchestra
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Studio/Live: Live