1 800 222 6872

Britten: Owen Wingrave / Finley, Savidge, Marlton, Barstow. Kent Nagano [DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

"The cast is outstanding: Gerald Finley as Owen, the formidable Dame Josephine Barstow as his terrifying aunt and Martyn Hill as his militaristic grandfather. Who says singers can't act? One of the best opera films ever." - The Sunday TimesThis 2001 production intriguingly tells the drama of Owen Wingrave, who refuses to follow a military career like his ancestors. The story, in which was written by Henry James, and the libretto adapted by Myfanwy Piper. Led by award-winning director Margaret Williams, and highly acclaimed conductor Kent Nagano and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 92 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 16:9, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo,
Subtitles: English, German, French, Spanish


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Britten, Benjamin : Owen Wingrave, Op. 85
  • Performers: Josephine Barstow; Anne Dawson; Gerald Finley; Elizabeth Gale; Charlotte Hellekant; Martyn Hill; Hilton Marlton; Peter Savidge
  • Conductor: Kent Nagano
  • Ensemble: Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin
  • Running Time: 92 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Studio/Live: Studio