1 800 222 6872

Offenbach: Orpheus in the Underworld / Donald Grobe, Julia Migenes Johnson, Hans Beirer, Astrid Varnay, Helmuth Lohner. Lopez Cobos [2 DVD]

Notes & Reviews:

In the early 1980s Gotz Friedrich created his own contemporary version of the operetta at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, in German, filled with allusions to the contemporary cultural scene and society in general. The performance stars Julia Migenes Johnson, Donald Grobe, Astrid Varnay and George Shirley.

Notes & Reviews:

Run Time: 188 min.
Region: 0
Picture Format: NTSC, 4:3, Color
Sound Format(s): PCM Stereo,
Subtitles: English, German


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Offenbach, Jacques : Orpheus in the Underworld
  • Performers: Peter Maus; George Shirley; Carol Malone; Annabelle Bernard; Janis Martin; Astrid Varnay; Hans Beirer; Julia Johnson; Donald Grobe
  • Conductor: Jesus Lopez Cobos
  • Ensemble: Deutsche Opera Berlin Orchestra
  • Running Time: 161 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1858
  • Studio/Live: Live